Vent thread

Zincy
Solar Supporter - Fought against the New Lunar Republic rebellion on the side of the Solar Deity (April Fools 2023).
Non-Fungible Trixie -
Friendship, Art, and Magic (2020) - Took part in the 2020 Community Collab
Wallet After Summer Sale -
The End wasn't The End - Found a new home after the great exodus of 2012

In Vino Veritas
I just read a news article about a 7 year old that died suddenly during surgery. The parents rationalized this as being “part of gods plan”.

I am going to preface this with two statements.

1. As a psychologist I understand coping mechanisms. We are hardwired to find ways to cope with trauma, it shields us from its more debilitating effects.  
  2. I also understand that a parent really, really needs to ease their mind when something like this happens.

With those out of the way….

Fuck this line of thinking. Fuck everything about it, down to its very fucking core. And fuck those who defend it in any light other than a coping mechanism. Coping is fine, but fuck any priest that regurgitates this “gods plan” bullshit. Same to those that feel the need to “thank god” before thanking the firefighter/doctor/cop or whatever actually saved your life.
Zincy
Solar Supporter - Fought against the New Lunar Republic rebellion on the side of the Solar Deity (April Fools 2023).
Non-Fungible Trixie -

In Vino Veritas
@MagpulPony

Careful with that point, it just wizzed past dangerously close to your ear. Next time, if you don’t duck fast enough, it may cut off one of them.

I said “before thanking the…” you ninny. I have no problem with people thanking god/gods, but just make sure you thank the mortal mooks that directly saved you.

I’ve seen a lot of people not even give a nod to the ones that actually saved them.
MagpulPony
Pixel Perfection - I still call her Lightning Bolt
Lunar Supporter - Helped forge New Lunar Republic's freedom in the face of the Solar Empire's oppressive tyrannical regime (April Fools 2023).